bos
logo
logo
bos
bos
bos
bos
Safranbolu's History

Geographic Characteristics

Safranbolu Houses

City Museum

Places To Visit

Mosques

Food

Safranbolu's History

The fact that Safranbolu carried the traditional Turkish community living to our day and preserved itself for centuries gave it the title of "Capital of Preservation". Approximately 1,500 of 15,000 cultural and natural heritage sites in Turkey are located in Safranbolu. The town's success in preserving its rich cultural heritage was rewarded with "World Heritage City" recognition by UNESCO, which also added the town to its list of "World Heritage Sites".

Safranbolu is known as "Paphlagonia" in Homer's epic "Iliad". Although its history is traced back to 3,000 BC, the exact date of its initial inhabitation is unknown.

Kaskians, Hittites, Cimmerians, Lydians, Persians, Hellenistic Kingdoms, Romans, Seljuqs, Chobanids, Jandarids and Ottomans all ruled the region. Safranbolu was conquered in 1196 by the Seljuk Sultan Muhittin Mesut Shah, son of Kilij Arslan II, which was the first time the city came under Turkish control.

In time, Safranbolu came under the control of Chobanids between 1213-1280, Jandarids between 1326-1354, and Ottomans between 1354-1402 and 1423 onwards.

It's Names Throughout History

The town's first name under Byzantian rule was Dadybra, which was changed to Zalifre under the Seljuks rule in 1196.

During Turkish beyliks and Ottoman rule, its name was change to Borglu and Borlu. As documented by Ottoman records, the town's name was changed to Taraklıboru due to the Tarakli clan's settlement in the region.

Under Ottoman rule, Taraklıboru was then called Zağfiran-ı Borlu in the middle of the 18th century, Zağfiran-ı Benderli for a short period in the middle of the 19th century, Zağfiranbolu starting from the last quarter of the 19th century, and finally Zafranbolu to take its present-day name Safranbolu.

boş